Welcome To Faculty Of Medical Science Naresuan University

The Faculty of Medical Science
The Faculty of Medical Science was established on September 22, 2001 in accordance with the policy set forward by the Cabinet in that its inception would hasten the production of personnel in order to provide better support for educational management at a fundamental level in the field of Medical Sciences and Science and Technology. The Faculty of Medical Science will help to promote research activities for the instructors and students and to produce potential scholars and researchers majoring in Medical Sciences and Science and Technology to help the Faculty to become an academic leader in the Asia-Pacific region.
The philosophy of the Faculty is to reach academic excellence and research competency to foster internationalization in the country.
The symbol of the Faculty is a two layered circle; the inner circle contains pictures of the Vitruvian Man and the Atomic Symbol. The Vitruvian Man refers to educational management and research in Health Science whereas the Atomic Symbol represents educational management and research in Science and Technology. The outer circle is engraved with the name of the Faculty in the white texts on the orange background decorated with Wrightia religiosa or Moke, the flower of the Faculty on both the sides of the outer circle. The flower defines permanence and good luck. The color of the Faculty is gold referring to goodness and excellence in every field.
To acquire such a distinguished reputation requires high standardization; thus, the Faculty has framed the following four key missions:

  • Well-qualified student production

The Faculty produces well-qualified graduates with high employability and who are well-equipped with morality and ethics. The Faculty also provides teaching at various levels, covering undergraduate and postgraduate levels. Courses delivered include pre-clinical courses for Health Sciences students and fundamental science courses for other disciplines.

  • Research production

The Faculty realizes the importance and advantage of research
and aims to support its personnel to be skilled and professionally trained to be able to develop research to correspond with the development and expansion of educational management at the community level; this could also be advantageous for the industrial and commercial sectors. It is expected that research work should generate breakthroughs nationally and internationally.

  • Academic services

The Faculty of Medical Science focuses on dissemination of knowledge and services to society. Personnel are required to possess academic expertise, particularly in Microbiology and Parasitology, Biochemistry, Physiology, Anatomy, Medical Sciences, etc. Knowledge transfer is promoted through research outputs and outcomes at the community and the national levels.

  • Arts and culture conservation

Integration of arts and culture activities is emphasized in order to promote the nurturing of the love awareness of the three main institutions of the nation. The Faculty also supports and allows students to engage with the creative arts and cultural activities on various occasions. This will create the desired characteristics in the students and a corporate culture deemed to be necessary in a rapidly changing world.


The Faculty of Medical Science offers a variety of courses, both at the undergraduate and the postgraduate levels. Currently, there are two undergraduate programs:

  1. Bachelor of Science Program in Medical Sciences
  2. Bachelor of Science Program in Microbiology

For postgraduate programs, six courses are presently delivered at the Master degree levels:

  1. Master of Science Program in Medical Sciences
  2. Masters of Science Program in Medical Sciences (International program)
  3. Master of Science Program in Microbiology
  4. Master of Science Program in Biochemistry
  5. Master of Science Program in Physiology
  6. Master of Science Program in Anatomy

The Faculty is planning to launch a parallel program in academic year 2012; this five-year program requires that a student complete his/her four-year study in the field of Medical Sciences before subsequently entering a one-year Masters program in any of these fields of studies: Anatomy, Biochemistry, Microbiology, and Physiology.

At the Ph.D. level, four courses are offered:

    • Doctor of Philosophy Program in Medical Sciences (International program)
    • Doctor of Philosophy Program in Microbiology
    • Doctor of Philosophy Program in Biochemistry
    • Doctor of Philosophy Program in Anatomy

The Faculty of Medical Science comprises four Departments: Department of Microbiology and Parasitology, Department of Biochemistry, Department of Physiology, and Department of Anatomy. This includes the Secretariat Office and the Medical Sciences Academic Service Unit (MSASU).

            Department of Microbiology and Parasitology: This is the only Department offering bachelor degree program and is the first Department delivering postgraduate study programs. The Department pledges to produce well-qualified graduates and this involves the development of courses, especially in Microbiology and Parasitology.

            Department of Biochemistry: The Department emphasizes both undergraduate and postgraduate programs, which include fundamental biochemistry to students of the Health Sciences cluster and the Science and Technology Cluster. At the graduate level, the Department also offers degree programs at both master and doctoral levels.

            Department of Physiology: The Department is responsible for providing Physiology teaching to Health Sciences students. This covers the production of Masters Degree students in Physiology; the Department also jointly produces bachelor degree students and postgraduate students in Medical Sciences.

Department of Anatomy: The Department of Anatomy is responsible for teaching programs both at the undergraduate and postgraduate levels.  For bachelor level students, fundamental medical courses in Anatomy are prepared for Health Sciences students whereas courses taught at postgraduate levels are expected to fulfill students requirements in that they could become advanced and skillfully trained researchers in the field of Anatomy.

Medical Science Academic Service Unit (MSASU): The Medical Science Academic Service Unit is the office supervised by the Faculty of Medical Science. It was established to provide academic services in Medical Sciences, including Science and Technology. It is also operates as a teaching and learning support unit which expands to research and student production at all levels. The unit engages in development of research skill for lecturers and staff members. There are four units governed by MSASU:

  1. Microbiology diagnostic unit
  2. Parasitic infectious disease diagnostic unit
  3. Assisted reproduction technology unit
  4. Scientific instrument service unit

The Faculty of Medical Science, Naresuan University has the ambition to become an effective and quality center of learning and knowledge transfer in Health Sciences by achieving broader teaching development leading to the production of healthy students equipped with academic competency, morality, and ethics to serve the society.